Court Information Release



United States District Court

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division 219 South Dearborn Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604

Release Date: May 15, 2013 **Contact:** Chief Judge James F. Holderman

United States District Court Northern District of Illinois 219 S. Dearborn St., Room 2548

Chicago, IL 60604 (312) 435-5600 (phone)

Fourteenth Annual Awards for Excellence in Pro Bono and Public Interest Service

CHICAGO – The United States District Court's Fourteenth Annual Awards for Excellence in Pro Bono and Public Interest Service is scheduled to begin at 3:30 p.m., Thursday, May 23, 2013, in the James Benton Parsons Memorial Courtroom (2525) of the Everett McKinley Dirksen United States Courthouse at 219 South Dearborn Street in Chicago, Illinois. The program is open to all attorneys and those interested in pro bono and public interest law and is free of charge.

This annual ceremony recognizing pro bono and public interest service before the court is sponsored jointly by the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois and the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association. **Robert J. DeSousa**, the National President of the Federal Bar Association, will be the keynote speaker.

Mr. DeSousa is the state director for U.S. Senator Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania and is a lieutenant colonel in the Judge Advocate General's Corps of the Pennsylvania Army National Guard. He also served in Operation Iraqi Freedom where he earned, among other things, the Bronze Star. Mr. DeSousa has been a member of the FBA for 20 years and, with the help of several other members, he re-chartered the then-defunct Middle District of Pennsylvania Chapter and set forth an aggressive program of CLEs, judicial receptions, and membership drives. He has served in every office in the Middle District of Pennsylvania Chapter, including that of president and national delegate. Mr. DeSousa served for three years on the former Executive Committee of the FBA and has served on the board since its inception. He became President-Elect at the National Convention held in Chicago in 2011 and President in 2012.

Nineteen "Awards for Excellence in Pro Bono Service" and one "Award for Excellence in Public Interest Service" will be presented on May 23, 2013 to area attorneys for their contributions in helping people most in need of assistance before the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois.

Award winners include: **Daniel Rubinstein** of Winston & Strawn LLP and **Keith Pozulp**, formerly of Winston & Strawn LLP; **Jared R. Cloud, Brian A. Fogerty, Elizabeth P. Lewis, Jaime Luque**, of McDermott Will & Emery; **Lee Muench**, of McGuireWoods LLP; **Stephen Libowsky** and **Eric Andalman** of Dentons; **Jacie Zolna** of Myron M. Cherry & Associates, LLC; **Michael Grill, Richard Winter** and **Maureen Browne Schoaf** of Holland & Knight, LLP; **Stephen J. Landes** of Edward Wildman & Palmer LLP; **Christopher Harney** and **Ian H. Morrison** of Seyfarth Shaw LLP; **Richard Laubenstein** of DiMonte & Lizak, LLC; **Mark Bina** of Krieg DeVault; **David Nicholas Patariu** of Morgan, Lewis and Bockius LLP; and **F. Willis Caruso** of The John Marshall Law School.

The awards program will also feature written comments and introductions by **Chief Judge James F. Holderman** and **George Jackson III,** President of the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association. **Joel Daly**, District Court Information Officer, will emcee the ceremony.